Program Groups

These Program Groups were dissolved after the GA 2012 in Beijing. Several were incorporated into the Office of Astronomy for Development (OAD). The Network for Astronomy Education (NASE) has become a Commission Working Group, while the International Schools for Young Astronomers (ISYA) continue as an important IAU educational activity under the auspices of the Office for Young Astronomers (OYA), a joint-venture between the IAU and the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (NASL). Commission 46 became Commission C1: Astronomy Education and Development after the restructuring of Commissions at the General Assembly in 2015 and many educational activities performed by these former program groups will also now be taken over by the new Office of Astronomy for Eduation (OAE).

Past Commission Program Group Under
Collaborative Programs C 46
Commission Newsletter C 46
International Schools for Young Astronomers (ISYAs) C 46
National Liaison on Astronomy Education and Newsletter C 46
Network for Astronomy Education NASE C 46
Public Understanding at the Times of Solar Eclipses and Transits C 46
Teaching for Astronomy Development C 46
World Wide Development of Astronomy (PGWWDA) C 46

Search Scientific Bodies


IAU Strategic Plan 2020–2030

Strategic Plan

IAU Code of Conduct

Code of Conduct

Symposia and Meetings



How to Become a Member

IAU Catalyst

Latest Catalyst

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2020 n° 7

Latest e-Newsletter

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter


IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Office for Young Astronomers

Office for Young Astronomers

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

International School for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers