E1 – Commission E1 Solar Radiation and Structure


The IAU Commission “Solar Radiation and Structure” covers observational and theoretical aspects of the “quiet” Sun radiation, structure and variability.  The primary goals for the coming decade are to investigate and understand the solar composition, the interior structure and dynamics, the mechanism of the solar magnetic cycles, the structure and dynamics of the solar atmosphere, the physics of magnetic structures, the sources of solar irradiance and long-term variability.  The Commission topics also include synoptic observing programs, observational, data analysis and modelling techniques, and coordination of international observing campaigns, space and ground-based observations.

The range of scientific topics of the Commission “Solar Radiation and Structure” is defined as “quiet-Sun” studies to distinguish these from the impulsive solar activity covered by the Commission E2, although there are close interconnections between these two major parts of heliophysics and the two Commissions keep close collaboration within the framework of Division E, to ensure exchange of relevant information, promote connections and avoid redundancy.

Commission Web Page

Commission Members (173)

Under Division

Division E Sun and Heliosphere

Ilaria Ermolli

Osservatorio Astronomico di Roma
Via Frascati 33
Monte Porzio Catone
00078 Roma

NCA adherence: Italy

Last updated:
September 24, 2018

Alfio Maurizio Bonanno

Istituto Nazionale di AstroFisica
Osservatorio Astrofisico di Catania
Via S. Sofia 78
95123 Catania

NCA adherence: Italy

Last updated:
March 16, 2021

Alexander Kosovichev

New Jersey Institute of Technology
Department of Physics
Tiernan Hall, Room 463
University Heights
Newark 07102
New Jersey (NJ)
United States

NCA adherence: United States

Last updated:
July 5, 2019

Organizing Committee

Search Scientific Bodies


Donate to the IAU

Donate to the IAU

IAU Strategic Plan 2020–2030

Strategic Plan

IAU Code of Conduct

Code of Conduct

Symposia and Meetings



How to Become a Member

Deceased Members

Deceased Members

Centre for the Protection of the Dark and Quiet Sky from Satellite Constellation Interference


IAU Catalyst

Latest Catalyst

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2022 n° 11

Latest e-Newsletter

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter


IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Office for Young Astronomers

Office for Young Astronomers

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

IAU Office of Astronomy for Education

Office of Astronomy for Education

International School for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers

WG Small Bodies Nomenclature Bulletins

WG Small Bodies Nomenclature Bulletins

IAU WG Women in Astronomy Newsletters and Ensemble Magazine

WG Women in Astronomy Newsletters