IAU–International Visegrad Fund Mobility Awards

The IAU–International Visegrad Fund Mobility Awards is a unique mobility scheme for Bachelor (BSc) and Master (MSc) astronomy students, building cross-border cooperation across four Visegrad Group countries: the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland and Slovak Republic.

The IAU–International Visegrad Fund Mobility Awards builds research capacity in institutions and raises the regional and global recognition of the astronomy community. Students have the opportunity to further develop their research skills and strengthen their career opportunities in astronomy and STEM-related fields. Two cohorts of 12 students (a total of 24 students, 6 per country) will undertake a three months summer research programme at a partner institution during  2023 and 2024. 


  1. Research Centre for Astronomy and Earth Sciences/Csillagászati és Földtudományi Kutatóköz
  2. Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń/Uniwersytet Mikołaja Kopernika w Toruniu
  3. Comenius University in Bratislava/Univerzita Komenského v Bratislave
  4. Astronomical Institute of the Czech Academy of Sciences/Astronomický ústav Akademie věd České republiky



The project is co-financed by the Governments of Czechia, Hungary, Poland and Slovakia through Visegrad Grants from the International Visegrad Fund. The mission of the fund is to advance ideas for sustainable regional cooperation in Central Europe.

About the Visegrad Fund

The International Visegrad Fund is an international donor organisation established by the governments of the Visegrad Group countries (V4, Czechia, Hungary, Poland and Slovakia). Its aim is to support closer understanding and cooperation among people in the V4 region, as well as between the V4 region and other countries and regions, particularly in the non-EU neighbourhood of the Eastern Partnership countries and in the Western Balkans. The fund fosters the development of civil society by financing joint grant projects and by awarding university scholarships and artist residencies. The fund’s annual budget of €8 million consists of equal contributions by the V4 governments.