National Members

Organizations representing national professional astronomical communities, desiring to promote their participation in international astronomy and supporting the objectives of the Union, may adhere to the Union as National Members. Organizations desiring to join the Union as National Members while developing professional astronomy in the community they represent may do so on an Interim basis or Observer basis. They may later become National Members on a permanent basis.

Total: 85 National Members

Member Organization
Algeria Center of Research in Astronomy, Astrophysics, and Geophysics - CRAAG
Argentina Asociación Argentina de Astronomía
Armenia Armenian National Academy of Sciences
Australia Australian Academy of Sciences
Austria Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften
Belgium The Royal Academies for Science and the Arts of Belgium
Bolivia Observatorio Astronómico Nacional
Botswana, Republic of Astronomical Society of Botswana
Brazil Sociedade Astronômica Brasileira
Bulgaria Bulgarian Academy of Sciences
Canada National Research Council of Canada
Chile Sociedad Chilena de Astronomia (SOCHIAS)
China, Nanjing Chinese Astronomical Society
China, Taipei Academia Sinica
Colombia Academia Colombiana de Ciencias Exactas, Físicas y Naturales
Costa Rica University of Costa Rica
Croatia, the Republic of Croatian Astronomical Society
Cyprus Cyprus Space Exploration Organisation (CSEO)
Czech Republic Czech Astronomical Society
Denmark The Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters
Ecuador National Observatory of Ecuador
Egypt Academy of Scientific Research and Technology
Estonia Estonian Academy of Sciences
Ethiopia Space Science and Geospatial Institute
Finland Council of Finnish Academies
France Comité National Français d'Astronomie (CNFA)
Georgia Evgeny Kharadze Georgian National Astrophysical Observatory
Germany Rat Deutscher Sternwarten (RDS)
Ghana Ghana Space Science and Technology Institute
Greece Ministry of Education, Lifelong Learning and Religious Affairs
Honduras Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Honduras
Hungary Hungarian Academy of Sciences
Iceland Director Office of Financial Affairs
India Indian National Science Academy
Indonesia Bosscha Observatory
Iran, Islamic Rep of (Suspended) University of Tehran
Iraq University of Baghdad
Ireland Astronomical Society of Ireland
Israel Israel Academy of Sciences & Humanities
Italy Istituto Nazionale di AstroFisica
Japan Science Council of Japan
Jordan The Arab Union for Astronomy and Space Sciences
Kazakhstan Fessenkov Astrophysical Institute
Korea, Democratic People's Republic of (Suspended) Pyongyang Astronomical Observatory
Korea, Rep of Korean Astronomical Society
Latvia University of Latvia
Lebanon (Suspended) National Council for Scientific Research
Lithuania Lithuanian Astronomical Society
Madagascar Malagasy Astronomy & Space Science Association
Malaysia Malaysian Space Agency (MYSA)
Mexico Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico
Mongolia Mongolian Academy of Sciences
Morocco Moroccan National Committee for Astronomy - Cadi Ayyad University
Mozambique Universidade Eduardo Mondlane
Netherlands Universiteit Leiden
New Zealand Royal Society of New Zealand
Nigeria Nigerian Academy of Science
Norway Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Panama University of Panama
Peru (Suspended) Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnologia
Philippines PAGASA
Poland Polish Academy of Sciences
Portugal Sociedade Portuguesa de Astronomia
Romania Romanian Academy
Russian Federation Russian Academy of Sciences
Saudi Arabia (Suspended) KACST
Serbia, Republic of Society of Astronomers of Serbia
Slovakia Slovak Academy of Sciences
Slovenia, the Republic of Society of Mathematicians, Physicists and Astronomers of Slovenia
South Africa National Research Foundation
Spain Comision Nacional de Astronomia
Sweden Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
Switzerland Swiss Academy of Sciences
Syrian Arab Republic Syrian Astronomy Association
Tajikistan National Academy of Sciences of Tajikistan
Thailand National Astronomical Research Institute of Thailand
Turkey Turkish Astronomical Society
Ukraine National Academy of Science of Ukraine
United Arab Emirates Sharjah Academy for Astronomy and Space Science and Technology (SAASST)
United Kingdom The Royal Astronomical Society
United States The National Academies
Uruguay Ministerio de Educación y Cultura
Vatican City State Governatorato Citta del Vaticano
Venezuela (Suspended) Centro de Investigaciones de Astronomía
Vietnam (Suspended) Vietnam Astronomy Society

Non-Member Countries

Terminated National Members


Donate to the IAU

Donate to the IAU

General Assembly 2024

IAU General Assembly 2024

IAU Strategic Plan 2020–2030

Strategic Plan

IAU Code of Conduct

Code of Conduct

Symposia and Meetings



How to Become a Member

Deceased Members

Deceased Members

Centre for the Protection of the Dark and Quiet Sky from Satellite Constellation Interference


IAU Catalyst

Latest Catalyst

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2024 n° 1

Latest e-Newsletter

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter


IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Office for Young Astronomers

Office for Young Astronomers

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

IAU Office of Astronomy for Education

Office of Astronomy for Education

International School for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers

WG Small Bodies Nomenclature Bulletins

WG Small Bodies Nomenclature Bulletins

IAU WG Women in Astronomy Newsletters and Ensemble Magazine

WG Women in Astronomy Newsletters