Division A Fundamental Astronomy

Awards & Prizes

Division A  IAU PhD prize - PhD Prize to Recognise Excellence in Astrophysics.

2019 Joseph O’Leary, Australia, "General relativistic and post-Newtonian dynamics for near-Earth objects and solar system bodies"
2017 Gisela Ortiz Leon, Mexico, "Ultra-high precision astrometry with centimeter and millimeter very long baseline interferometry"

AAS/DDA Dirk Brouwer prize recognizes a major contributor to the field of Dynamical Astronomy.

2016 Sylvio Ferraz Mello
2015 Douglas Lin
2014 Joseph Burns
2013 Jerry Sellwood
2012 Lia Athanassoula
2011 Andrea Milani
2009 Victor Brumberg
2007 Jacques Laskar
2006 James Williams
2001 E. Myles Standish
1998 Scott D. Tremaine
1996 Brian Marsden
1993 Stanton Peale
1990 Yoshihide Kozai
1988 Irwin Shapiro
1986 Peter Goldreich
1985 Andre Deprit
1984 Michel C. Henon
1983 Walter Fricke
1982 George Contopoulos

AAS/DPS Harold C. Urey Prize recognizes and encourages outstanding achievements in planetary science by a young scientist.

2011 Eric B. Ford
2004 Jean-Luc Margot
2000 Alessandro Morbidelli
1999 Douglas P. Hamilton
1997 Renu Malhotra
1992 Jack J. Lissauer
1990 David J. Tholen

EPSC Paolo Farinella Prize acknowledges an outstanding researcher not older than 47 years (the age of Farinella when he passed away) who has achieved important results in one of Farinella’s fields of work.

2019 Scott Sheppard (and Chad Trujillo)
2016 Kleomenis Tsigani
2014 David Vokrouhlicky
2013 Patrick Michel
2012 John Chambers

Tycho Brahe Prize laureate - The EAS Tycho Brahe Medal is awarded in recognition of the development or exploitation.
of European instruments or major discoveries based largely on such instruments.

2011 Michael Perryman
2015 Michel Mayor

2009 Michael Kramer : awarded the Marcel Grossman by the ICRA for Research in Gravitation and Astrophysics, for "his fundamental contributions to pulsar astrophysics, and notably for having first confirmed the existence of spin-orbit precession in binary pulsars".


Back to Division A Homepage


IAU GA 2021 Business Sessions

Strategic Plan

IAU Strategic Plan 2020–2030

Strategic Plan

IAU Code of Conduct

Code of Conduct

Symposia and Meetings


IAU General Assembly 2022



How to Become a Member

IAU Catalyst

Latest Catalyst

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2021 n° 6

Latest e-Newsletter

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter


IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Office for Young Astronomers

Office for Young Astronomers

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

IAU Office of Astronomy for Education

Office of Astronomy for Education

International School for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers

WG Small Bodies Nomenclature Bulletins

WG Small Bodies Nomenclature Bulletins

WG Women in Astronomy Newsletters

WG Women in Astronomy Newsletters