ann20036 — Announcement

IAU logo
6 October 2020
IAU 2020 PhD Prize Applications Open

The IAU is inviting applications for its 2020 PhD prize, an award which celebrates the outstanding accomplishments made globally by PhD researchers in astrophysics.

First introduced in 2016, the prize is awarded annually in each of the nine IAU Divisions in recognition of the most remarkable thesis work done in the previous year. Eligible PhD Theses for the 2020 Prize are those which have been defended between 16 December 2019 and 15 December 2020. Theses which are in preparation or submitted, but not yet defended by 15 December 2020 are not eligible for the 2020 Prize.

Each recipient will receive a range of prizes, tailored at the discretion of the awarding Division. A standard prize includes airfare and accommodation to attend the next IAU General Assembly where certificates will be presented. For winners of the 2020 prize, this will be the 2021 General Assembly in Busan, Republic of Korea. Other prizes might include the opportunity to present their thesis work at the Division Days meetings, an invitation to attend presentations at the IAU Executive Committee meeting, dinner at the General Assembly and the possibility of presenting a talk at either a plenary or special session.

Candidates are required to submit: an abstract of their thesis that is pitched at a level suitable for the public; a 1500-word thesis summary; three letters of recommendation (including one from the PhD advisor); and a CV. The winner from each Division will be decided according to the Division’s own standards and methods — guided by the Division Steering Committee — and possibly with corroborating external consultation or additional letters of recommendation.

The IAU PhD Prize is open to candidates from any country, regardless of whether the country is an IAU National Member. In addition, a separate prize is available to be awarded to applicants from developing countries (defined as those not in the OECD).

The application form is available here.

More information

The IAU is the international astronomical organisation that brings together almost 12 000 active professional astronomers from more than 100 countries worldwide. Its mission is to promote and safeguard astronomy in all its aspects, including research, communication, education and development, through international cooperation. The IAU also serves as the internationally recognised authority for assigning designations to celestial bodies and the surface features on them. Founded in 1919, the IAU is the world's largest professional body for astronomers.



Madeleine Smith-Spanier
IAU Database Manager
Paris, France
Tel: +33 1 43 25 83 58

Maria Teresa Lago
General Secretary
Paris, France
Tel: +33 1 43 25 83 58

About the Announcement