ann19062 — Announcement

Gruber Foundation logo
14 October 2019
Call for Nominations for the 2020 Gruber Cosmology Prize

The Gruber Cosmology Prize honours a leading cosmologist, astronomer, astrophysicist or scientific philosopher for theoretical, analytical, conceptual or observational discoveries leading to fundamental advances in our understanding of the Universe.

The Gruber Foundation invites nominations on behalf of individuals whose achievements in cosmology would make them suitable candidates for recognition through the 2020 Gruber International Prize Program.

Each prize, which is accompanied by a $500 000 unrestricted monetary award, is designed both to recognise groundbreaking work in each field and to inspire additional efforts that effect fundamental shifts in knowledge and culture. Recipients are selected by a committee of distinguished experts in each field. We encourage nominations that reflect the breadth of the fields and the diversity of those working within them.

Nomination forms should be completed and submitted online. The deadline for nominations is 15 December 2019.


More information

The IAU is the international astronomical organisation that brings together more than 13 500 professional astronomers from more than 100 countries worldwide. Its mission is to promote and safeguard astronomy in all its aspects, including research, communication, education and development, through international cooperation. The IAU also serves as the internationally recognised authority for assigning designations to celestial bodies and the surface features on them. Founded in 1919, the IAU is the world's largest professional body for astronomers.


The Gruber Foundation
Tel: +1 203 432 6231
Fax: +1 203 436 3540

Lars Lindberg Christensen
IAU Press Officer
Garching bei München, Germany
Tel: +49 89 320 06 761
Cell: +49 173 38 72 621

About the Announcement



Gruber Foundation logo