ann18023 — Announcement

The Kavli Prize
16 May 2018
Live Webcast of 2018 Kavli Prize Announcement

On 31 May, a live webcast will take place from the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters announcing the 2018 Kavli Prize Laureates in Astrophysics, Nanoscience and Neuroscience. The webcast, which will start at 14:30 CEST, will be broadcast from Oslo, Norway and the World Science Festival in New York City. The announcement of the 2018 Kavli Prize Laureates is scheduled for 15:00 CEST.

The Kavli Prize is awarded every two years to scientists who have made pioneering advances in astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience — furthering our understanding of existence at the largest, smallest and most complex scales. Laureates will receive a USD $1 million prize and a gold medal presented in Oslo, Norway, during a ceremony presided over by His Majesty King Harald.

The 2018 Kavli Prize announcement will feature a keynote address by the Honorable Shirley Ann Jackson Ph.D., president of the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Described as “perhaps the ultimate role model for women in science,” Dr. Jackson has held senior leadership positions in academia, government, industry, and research.

The webcast will also feature a discussion by leading scientists in the fields of neuroscience, nanoscience, and astrophysics, who will discuss the Kavli Laureates and their contributions to science. The panel will also provide insights into future research and opportunities within these developing fields.

Detailed information about the programme is available on the Kavli Prize website, and you can follow the livestream here.



Lars Lindberg Christensen
IAU Press Officer
Garching bei München, Germany
Tel: +49 89 320 06 761
Cell: +49 173 38 72 621

Marina Tofting
Head of Communication
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Tel: + 47 93 86 63 12

About the Announcement



The Kavli Prize